'Road prince ne kiya kya hai' - Fans react as India announce squad for first 2 Tests against England

Cricket News: India has named its squad for the first 2 Tests against England. There have been some surprising inclusions. Some of the exclusions have been highlighted.

Sarah Andrew
Updated On
New Update

India (Source: X)

India's squad for the first two Tests vs. England: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan. 

England's squad: Ben Stokes, James Anderson, Rehan Ahmed, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Shoib Bashir, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes (wk), Tom Hartley, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, and Mark Wood. 

The Indian Cricket Board has announced the two match Test squads for the England Test series on January 12, which is all set to commence on January 25 in Hyderabad. The squad has marked the surprise omission and inclusion of the players in the upcoming matches of the Test series. Meanwhile, the recently announced squad has marked the omission of Ishan Kishan, who missed the Afghanistan series as well. 

Dhruv Jurel gets maiden call up

The left-handed batter opted for a break on the South Africa tour, and following that, he has yet to make himself available for the national side. Surprisingly, star cricketer Dhruv Jurel, who had the magnificent domestic edition, called up for Team India. However, Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul, who are not part of the Afghanistan side, marked their comeback in the Test series against England. Whereas all-rounder Shardul Thakur and star pacer Prasidh Krishna didn't get the chance to be in the Test series as they had an awful Test series against South Africa.

Star pacer Mohammed Shami is also not in India's camp, as he has yet to make his comeback for the national team after his grave injuries. The hosts are currently at the number two spot in the WTC 2023-2025 cycle, and they will be looking to win the Test series against visiting sides to boost their preparation for the WTC Final 2025.

Team India were able to place themselves in the finals of WTC 2021 and WTC 2023, and this time as well, they will be looking to end their journey at the top spot to be in the finals of the new cycle of WTC 2025.

Here's how the fans reacted to the squad of India -

India England Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Featured