'Purana din wapas aa gaye hein' - Fans react as Multan Sultans hands Lahore Qalandars their third defeat in PSL 2024

In the ongoing Pakistan Super League 2024, defending champions, Lahore Qalandars are yet to win a game after playing three games. They never had such a start in the last few years.

Mathew K
New Update
Lahore Qalandars

Lahore Qalandars (Image Credit: Twitter)

In the second game of the doubleheader of the ongoing Pakistan Super League 2024 on February 21, defending champions, Lahore Qalandars took on former champions, Multan Sultans. Ahead of the game, the home team, Multan was coming off two back-to-back wins to start the season. On the other hand, Qalandars was looking for their first win in the third game of the season. Meanwhile, in the game, the Red Army, Lahore won the toss and batted first.

They had a poor start as they lost the wicket of in-form Sahibzada Farhan (2) was removed by Mohammad Ali. At 3/1, the likes of Fakhar Zaman and Rassie van der Dussen put together 94 runs. Both started with caution as the wicket was the best to bat on. The latter scored fifty while Zaman scored 41. After them, the likes of Sikandar Raza, Jahandad Khan, and Carlos Braithwaite helped the team reach 166/5. 

For the Blue Brigade, Ali took two wickets while Abbas Afridi and Usama Mir took one wicket each. 

Multan Sultans ensures they remain unbeaten while Lahore Qalandars remain winless

In reply, the 2021 winners had a poor start as they lost Dawid Malan and Reeza Hendricks with only 15 runs on the board. Yasir Khan also failed despite putting together 38 runs with his captain Mohammad Rizwan. At 53/3, Rizwan and David Willey put together 75n runs for the fourth wicket. The former scored 82 off 59 balls including nine fours and three sixes. Zaman Khan removed the Pakistan wicketkeeper batter. Iftikhar Ahmed came out and scored quickly.

On the other hand, Willey (25) was trapped lbw by Qalandars skipper Shaheen Afridi. Despite this, Ahmed kept going and ensured that the former champions remained unbeaten. The Punjab-based team won the game by five wickets and one over remaining. Notably, Sultans lost two finals against Qalandars in the last couple of seasons. Meanwhile, the Lahore bowlers proved expensive with Zaman Khan giving 52 runs in four overs.

This is how Twitter reacted

Pakistan Super League PSL