Six Indian cricketers included in Apex Cricket Council’s ODI team of 2023, Rohit named as Captain

In the aftermath of a disheartening defeat in the ODI World Cup finals, the Apex Cricket Council has included six Indian players in their ODI team of the year for 2023. Leading the team is Rohit Sharma, who has been appointed as the captain.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
Well-deserved Inclusion

ODI Team of the Year announced (Source: Twitter)

2023 has been India's year in the ODIs where Indian players dominated the format with their excellent performances and the Apex Cricket Council's ODI team suggests it as it has 6 Indian players in it. Apart from the heartbreaking loss in the 2023 ODI World Cup finals, India had a staggering 2023 as they won the Asia Cup and reached the finals of the World Cup by winning all 10 matches leading up to the final. 

Rohit, Kohli and Gill led the batting front

Almost all the players gave their best until the last hurdle in the finals. Rohit Sharma is leading the ODI team of the year as he took India to the finals of the ODI World Cup and scored 1255 runs in 2023 at an average of 52. He led from the front by scoring 597 runs in 11 matches in the World Cup at an astonishing strike rate of 126.

Virat Kohli is the other Indian in the ODI team of the year who was the top scorer of the World Cup 2023 with 765 runs in 11 matches. Virat was in superb form in 2023 and scored 1377 runs in the calendar year.

Apart from the two Indian veterans, Shubman Gill is another Indian prodigy who was a part of the ODI team of the year for his fantastic show with the bat this year. Gill amassed 1584 runs in 2023 in ODIs along with a double century against New Zealand. 2023 also belonged to Kuldeep Yadav, the crafty left-arm spinner who dominated the ODI scene with a staggering 49 wickets.

His magic was on full display in the Asia Cup, especially against India's arch-rivals, Pakistan. During the Super Four stage, Yadav bamboozled the Pakistani batsmen with his mesmerizing spin. His incredible figures of 5 for just 25 runs were the highlight of the match, playing a pivotal role in India's resounding victory.

India's Pace Duo Sizzles in Apex Cricket Council ODI Awards

India's fast bowling attack stole the limelight in the ODI Team of the Year 2023, thanks to the fiery performances of Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj. Both bowlers proved unstoppable forces, terrorizing batsmen across the globe.

Siraj, the young gun, blazed a trail with 44 wickets in ODIs, culminating in a sensational display in the Asia Cup 2023 final. His fiery spell of 6 for 21 shattered Sri Lanka's hopes and paved the way for India's emphatic victory. He truly lived up to his reputation as a match-winner.

Shami, the experienced campaigner, wasn't far behind. He ended the year with 24 wickets in the ODI World Cup, including a staggering four fifers. His magnum opus came in the World Cup semi-final against New Zealand in Mumbai. He unleashed a spell of pure magic, ripping through the Kiwi batting order with figures of 7 for 57, the best bowling figures ever recorded by an Indian in ODI history.

Apex Cricket Council's ODI Team of the Year 2023

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Travis Head, Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klassen (WK), Marco Jansen, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami.


Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma Mohammed Shami Apex Cricket Council