WPL 2024: Complete schedule for 2nd edition is out; Check out all matches, venue and format here

The schedule for WPL 2024 has been unveiled, highlighting an exciting opening match between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. The season is slated to commence on February 23, culminating in a thrilling finale scheduled for March 17 in New Delhi.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
This time it's bigger and better

Women's Premier League (Source: Twitter)

IPL has transformed the landscape of men's cricket not only in India but also worldwide. It has not only created a wider talent pool for Indian cricket but has also made the players more financially stable. 

After such a huge success of IPL, a tournament on similar lines was the need of the hour for Indian women cricketers also who were showing their prowess on the world stage but were not able to hold their nerves in crunch situations which a tournament like IPL could teach them.

WPL 2024 Schedule Unveiled: Clash of Titans in the Opener

The WPL was an initiative that was the need of the hour and finally heard the plea and came up with the first edition of the WPL last year which was a hit. Subsequently, now the much-awaited schedule for WPL 2024 has also been revealed, featuring a blockbuster opener between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. 

The season is set to kick off on February 23, with the showdown scheduled for March 17 in New Delhi. A total of 22 matches will unfold, with the final match concluding at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, all commencing at 7:30 pm. 

WPL 2024: Full schedule

WPL 2024 will be played in dual cities

In a continuation of the 2023 season, WPL 2024 will maintain the previous year’s structure with no home and away matches. However, unlike last year the tournament spans two cities – Delhi and Bengaluru. 

The top three teams in the league stage will earn a ticket to the playoffs. The team leading the league table secures a direct entry to the final, while the second and third-placed teams battle it out in the Eliminator on March 15. 

Reflecting on the previous season, Mumbai Indians emerged victorious, led by the dynamic Harmanpreet Kaur. The final saw them defeat Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets, clinching the inaugural WPL championship. 

Meg Lanning of Delhi Capitals stood out as the leading run-scorer with 345 runs, while Hayley Mathews of Mumbai Indians claimed the Purple Cap with an impressive tally of 16 wickets in 10 matches. Every season comes with its challenges, and WPL 2024 is no exception. The fans will be hoping that the 2nd season will be bigger and better and will break all the records of the last season.  



WPL WPL 2024