'WC toh India hi jeetega' - Fans react as India beat Australia in second ODI by 99 runs and claim series

Sep 24, 2023 17:29 IST
New Update

India (Source: Twitter)

India defeated Australia in the second ODI of the series to claim a series win. Against one of the best teams in the world, India won the match comfortably. In a rain-affected game, India had a good outing in the middle. The collective efforts of every team member meant that India won the match by a huge margin of 99 runs to win the series with a match to go.

Steve Smith won the toss and invited India to bat first. By the end of the match, the Australian captain would be regretting his decision. The pitch played out totally differently, as opposed to the expectations of Smith. In the first innings, it was a totally flat deck. But due to the interruption of rain, the second innings saw some assistance from the pitch for the spinners.

Batting first, India scored a whopping 399 runs in their 50 overs. Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer scored a hundred for India. The duo was involved in a 200-run partnership for the second wicket, which took the game away from Australia completely. Gill scored 104 runs in 97 balls, which happened to be his sixth ODI hundred. Iyer scored 105 runs in 90 balls and showed his ability to score runs against good opponents.

India India (Source: Twitter)

India registered a dominant win against Australia to seal the series

After the good platform from the duo, KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav scored fifty and finished things well for the Indian team. Rahul scored 52 runs in 38 balls, which included 3 fours and sixes each. Yadav was exceptional, as he scored an unbeaten 72*(37), which included 6 fours and sixes each. Ishan Kishan played a good hand and scored 31 runs in 18 balls.

400 was not tough for the bowlers to defend. Due to the interruption of rain, the match was reduced to 33 overs and the revised target was 317 runs. Australia lost the match by 99 runs. Barring David Warner and Sean Abbott, no other batter applied themselves. Prasidh Krishna, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ravichandran Ashwin shined with the ball for India.

Here is how fans reacted

#India #Australia