Angelo Matthews retaliates with proof to refute fourth umpire’s explanation on 'Timed-Out' controversy

Angelo Matthews responds with evidence to challenge the fourth umpire's explanation regarding the 'Timed-Out' controversy. It appeared clear that the two-minute limit was not exceeded before Matthews reached the batting crease.

Johnson Gomez D
New Update
Angelo Matthews

Dejected and infuriated Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Matthews took it to “X’ formerly known as Twitter to refute the justification given by the fourth umpire Adrian Holdstock on the historic decision to give him time-out in the ODI World Cup match against Bangladesh. 

The fourth umpire claimed that the TV umpire monitors the time taken by the next batter to face the next ball after the previous batter has been given. He said that according to the rules, the time between the fall of a wicket and the next batter taking guard to face the delivery should not exceed 2 minutes, and in this, Matthews was late to do so even before the helmet strap even became an issue which led to his dismissal under the timed out rule etching his name in the annals of history books as Angelo Matthews became the first batter in International Cricket to be adjudged timed out.

Angelo Mathews, however, wasn’t satisfied by the explanation and bluntly countered the fourth’s explanation with a video proof where he put up his case that he still had 5 seconds when he came to the crease and was ready to bat before his helmet strap gave them. He also asked the fourth umpire to rectify it by giving the video proof in his post.

Sri Lanka- Bangladesh rivalry keeps on giving

Even though the match didn’t have much significance on the points table, people were waiting for this Asian clash as both these teams have had a track record of dramatic clashes with the Naagin dance being the most iconic one.  

It again didn’t disappoint the fans as it gave the fans another talking point, which will remain the talk of the town for days to follow. It all started when Angelo Matthews came into bat after the Sadeera Samarwickrama and just when he came to the crease and was about to get ready to face, he realized that his helmet strap broke.

Matthews asked for another one, and when he was in the process of changing the old helmet for a new one, Bangladesh skipper appealed for a time-out. Although the umpires asked Shakib if he would like to withdraw his appeal, he refused and then the umpires had to give the batter out. The fuming Matthews was seen discussing the dismissal with the umpires and the Bangladesh skipper but to no avail as he had to go back at the end.

Ironically in the second innings, Angelo Matthews dismissed Shakib-al-Hasan and took a sly dig at the Bangladesh skipper with his looking at his imaginary wrist match celebration. The controversy affected the post-match rituals as well where the Sri Lanka team refused to shake with the Bangladesh team. The whole time-out saga took the cricketing world by storm and got the spirit of cricket debate sparkling again with cricketers and fans across the world divided over the whole scenario.

Sri Lanka ODI World Cup 2023 Shakib Al Hasan