'Not satisfied' - Twitter divided as the Indian cricket board announces the squad for the Asia Cup 2022

The Indian cricket board announced the squad for The Asia Cup 2022. Virat Kohli, KL Rahul made it back into the squad. Find out more here.

New Update
Indian Team

Many fans were not happy with the Indian team for The Asia Cup 2022. (Image Source: Twitter)

The Indian cricket team is all set for the Asia Cup 2022. Right after the Zimbabwe series, team India will be stepping onto playing the Asia Cup. The tournament will kick off on August 27 with Sri Lanka and Afghanistan locking horns in the first match.

India will face Pakistan in the opening match on August 28 in Dubai. The Indian squad for the same was announced yesterday. However, the speculations began before the squad was announced. Fans wanted Shreyas Iyer to be removed and most of them wanted Sanju Samson to replace him. However, the selectors had other ideas.

Veteran batter Virat Kohli has made his way back into the squad, and one of the biggest setbacks for India is the injury of Jasprit Bumrah. The Indian pace spearhead missed out due to a back injury and the pace attack lacks experience now. KL Rahul has stormed back into the squad and will be Rohit's deputy for the tournament. Sanju Samson has been left out once again.

Legendary spinner Ravichandran Ashwin made his way back into the squad. Arshdeep Singh, the man of the series in the recently concluded T20I series against West Indies, found a place in the team. Avesh Khan will be backing up Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh in the bowling department. Many found the exclusion of Mohammed Shami to be a risky decision.

Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Axar Patel were named as standby players. Deepak Chahar made it into the ODI squad against Zimbabwe after a brief halt. Shreyas Iyer missed out on the opportunity to seal his place in the squad. However, he has been added as the injury cover.

Here is the Indian squad for the Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (Capt ), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Injury Cover: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar.

The Twitter community came together to give their opinions on the squad. And the fans were divided upon the selection.

Here's how Twitter reacted:

Asia Cup 2022