MI Emirates reveal squad for inaugural International T20 League tournament, rope Kieron Pollard and Trent Boult

The Mumbai franchise-owned UAE team have revealed their name for the inaugural UAE International T20 League.

New Update
Kieron Pollard and Trent Boult

Kieron Pollard and Trent Boult (Image source- Twitter)

The Mumbai franchise-owned team in the UAE's new T20 League have revealed their name for the International T20 League. They have named the town ‘MI Emirates’ and they have also revealed the players who’ll play for them. Big guns like Trent Boult, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, and Nicholas Pooran are all set to play for the team.

Akash Ambani, the chairman of Reliance Jio said that he was delighted for the fourteen players who’ll represent the team. He also welcomed Dwyane Bravo, Nicholas Pooran and Trent Boult who were a part of the Mumbai team in the Indian T20 League once. He added that they are trying to balance between experience and young talent.

“I am delighted with our dynamic group of 14 players that will be part of our #Onefamily and represent 'MI Emirates’. We are glad to have one of our key pillars, Kieron Pollard continue with MI Emirates. Joining us back are Dwayne Bravo, Trent Boult, and Nicholas Pooran. A very warm welcome to all players of MI Emirates,” Aakash Ambani was quoted as saying.

He further added, “MI is known to strike a balance between experience and investing in young talent to unlock their true potential which will help us play the MI way. This is what fans expect from us and will drive the MI ethos forward.”

Most of the teams in the new UAE International T20 league are owned by Indian T20 league franchises.

The MI Emirates squad:

Kieron Pollard (West Indies)

Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)

Nicholas Pooran (West Indies)

Trent Boult (New Zealand)

Andre Fletcher (West Indies)

Imran Tahir (South Africa)

Samit Patel (England)

Will Smeed (England)

Jordan Thompson (England)

Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan)

Zahir Khan (Afghanistan)

Fazalhaq Farooqui (Afghanistan)

Bradley Wheal (Scotland)

Bas De Leede (Netherlands).

MI Cape Town

The Mumbai franchise-based team for the South African league have named their team 'MI Cape Town'. And they have already bagged in some big names like Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Dewald Brevis, Sam Curran and Kagiso Rabada.

The team will be known as 'My Cape Town' which will stand as a dedication to its fans.

UAE T20 League MI Emirates