India vs Ireland: India’s Predicted Playing XI for the first T20I against Ireland

India vs Ireland: Here's a look at India’s Predicted Playing XI for the first T20I against Ireland in Ireland.

New Update
India vs Ireland: India’s Predicted Playing XI for the first T20I against Ireland

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Harshal Patel, Ravi Bishnoi,Venkatesh Iyer (Source: Twitter)

The Indian team is all set to take on Ireland for the 2-match T20 international series starting on 26th June. Hardik Pandya has been named the captain of the team in the absence of the senior players. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the vice-captain of the squad. There have been many new names that have been added to the squad in place of senior players.

It will be interesting to see whether the Indian team tests its bench strength in the series. Rahul Tripathi, Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik are the only three players in the squad who haven’t received their debut cap yet.

India’s Predicted XI for the first T20I

Openers: Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan

With Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul not part of the squad. Ishan Kishan is likely to open the batting with Ruturaj Gaikwad. While Ishan Kishan was the highest run-scorer in the last T20I series against South Africa, Gaikwad faired well. Despite that, the latter is likely to open.

Middle Order: Rahul Tripathi and Suryakumar Yadav

Rahul Tripathi was in great form in the Indian T20 league 2022 and will be eager to get his debut cap. While Suryakumar Yadav will look to score more runs to seal a place in the 20-20 world cup squad.

Lower Order: Hardik Pandya and Venkatesh Iyer

Hardik Pandya will most probably be seen batting at no 5 as he was seen doing in the South Africa Series. Venkatesh Iyer will provide an extra bowling option to the squad with his slogging ability in the death overs.

Wicketkeeper: Dinesh Karthik

With his stupendous batting performance in the South Africa T20 series, the management will look to play Dinesh Karthik again to build confidence in him.

Seamers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel

Vice-Captain BHuvneshwar Kumar will most probably be the new ball bowler along with Harshal Patel.

Spinners: Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel

The spin bowling department will be handled by Chahal and Patel. With both of their bowling style being different along with different arms as well that will provide much-needed variety in the bowling attack.

Predicted Playing XI- Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Venkatesh Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal

India Squad for the Series

Hardik Pandya (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi.