‘Lord Rinku for a reason’ – Fans react to India’s win by two wickets vs Australia during the 1st T20

Fans react as India record a two-wicket win over Australia in the first T20 game in Visakhapatnam Thursday thanks to Rinku Singh's heroics with the bat.

Sarah Andrew
New Update

Indian Cricket Team (Source-Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadav led India side began the five-match T20 series with a close win over Australia. The new-look Indian side played with passion and aggression against the ODI World Cup 2023 winner Australia.

A capacity crowd greeted both the teams in Visakhapatnam as Suryakumar Yadav won the toss and chose to bowl. The reason behind the decision was to make use of the dew-filled conditions while chasing.

The Indian skipper shone with the bat as he showed why he is considered the best batter in this format. Josh Inglis scored his first century for Australia as the right-handed batter’s blistering went in vain.

India register their first win of the series –

Batting first, Matthew Short saw his off-pole flat on the ground when he was bowled by Ravi Bishnoi for 13. That was the only delight the Indian Cricket Team and its bowlers had for nearly 11 overs. 

Steve Smith and Josh Inglis put the Indian bowlers to the sword as the pair added 130 runs for the 2nd wicket. 28-year-old Josh Inglis scored 110 runs from 50 balls with 11 fours and 8 sixes with his century coming from just 47 balls.

Former skipper Steve Smith batted well to score 52 runs before Tim David hit some lusty blows to help Australia score 208/3. Chasing 209 to win, India lost Ruturaj Gaikwad early run-out without facing a ball for a duck.

Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 21 runs from 8 balls before he failed to clear Steve Smith being caught of Matthew Short’s bowling. Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav then took the attack to the Aussies to stitch a 112-run stand for the 3rd wicket in 10 overs.

Ishan Kishan was out for 58 runs with 2 fours and 5 sixes from 39 balls. Suryakumar Yadav kept going as he scored his 16th fifty in T20 Cricket before falling for 80 runs. The winning runs came in the final over when Rinku Singh got India over the line with a six to take a 1-0 lead in the series.

Here’s how the fans reacted –


Australia vs Netherlands Ind