Dota 2 DreamLeague Season 22; Group Stage Teams and Format

Sixteen Dota 2 teams will fight for EPT Points and a piece of the 1 million dollar prize pool in the latest season of Dota 2 DreamLeague. Here's all you need to know.

Sarah Andrew
New Update

DreamLeague Season 22 is set to start this month and will be the first tournament in the ESL Pro Tour this year. ESL has now revealed the teams participating and the match ups for Group Stage 1. Featuring sixteen Dota 2 teams, the event features a prize pool of $1 million and chance to grab EPT Points.

Group Stage 1 will run from February 25 to February 28. Out of the sixteen teams, four teams received a direct invitation from the EPT Leaderboards, while the other twelve qualified from regional qualifiers.

Format -

These sixteen teams will be divided into two groups and will play matches in a Round-robin format. At the end of Group Stage 1 matches, the top four teams from each group will advance to Group Stage 2. Remaining teams will go home.

Here are the teams -

Group A

Azure Ray

BetBoom Team


Gaimin Gladiators



Team Falcons

Group B



Shopify Rebellion

Team Liquid

Team Secret

Team Spirit

Tundra Esports

Xtreme Gaming

There are also some measures in case there are ties between the competing, which are quite common in the early matches. If two teams are tied over a position of significance, a best-of-three match will be played. In case three or more teams are tied, only best-of-one in a round-robin will be played.

For ties not over positions of significance, Neustadtl score will be evaluated, Head-to-head account for both teams will be taken into consideration. There will also be 1v1 tiebreakers events to settle any non-significant positions.

All in all, both groups seem to have proper team spread. Group A will arguably see more intense fights, however, Group B also have some notable teams like Liquid, Aurora and Spirit.