Shoaib Malik enters records books hours after announcement of 3rd marriage

Check out the new record that Shoaib Malik created on Saturday after he announced his third marriage to actress Sana Javed on Social Media.

Sarah Andrew
New Update

Shoaib Malik (Source-Twitter)

It has been a whirlwind 24 hours for former Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik. The 41-year-old Saturday announced his third marriage to Pakistani actress Sana Javed. This was followed by a massive achievement on the field. 

Shoaib Malik has become just the second batter in history to score 13,000 runs in T20 Cricket. The right-handed batter joined Chris Gayle in achieving this special feat. Malik also became the first-ever batter from Asia to achieve this feat. 

The veteran batter is currently taking part in the Bangladeshi Premier League. Saturday’s game saw Fortune Barishal take on Rangpur Riders. Tamim Iqbal’s Barishal side won the game beating Shakib AL Hasan-led Rangpur Riders. 

Happy Saturday for Shoaib Malik

On Saturday morning former Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik announced his third marriage to Sana Javed. It also came to light that the marriage between Sania Mirza and Shoaib Malik had ended. 

Speaking to the media about this issue, Imran Mirza said “It was a ‘Khula’, I do not wish to comment beyond this”. It is also noted that Sania Mirza and Shoaib Malik are not connected on social media. The pair have a five-year-old son Izaan who is currently staying with Sania Mirza. 

Tamim Iqbal won the toss and put the opposition into bat and restricted them to 134/9. Brandon King was out for a golden duck when he was bowled by Mohammad Imran. Khaled Ahmed then struck twice removing Rony Talukdar and Shakib AL Hasan to reduce Rangpur to 15/3. 

Sri Lankan spinner Dunith Wellalage then got the wicket of Azmatullah Omarzai for 6. Shoaib Malik bowled just one over and got the wicket of Nurul Hasan for 23. Shamim Hossain with 34 and Mahedi Hasan with 29 then fought back to bring their team back into the game. Khaled Ahmed was the pick of the bowlers picking 4/31 from his 4 overs. 

Chasing 135 to win, Shakib Al Hasan got the wicket of Ibrahim Zadran for 12. Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Tamim Iqbal then added 34 runs for the second wicket. Mohammad Nabi struck when he dismissed Iqbal for 35 while Hasan Murad removed Miraz for 20. Mushfiqur Rahim was out for 26 as Shoaib Malik (17*) and Mahmudullah (19*) saw the team home. 

Sania Mirza Shoaib Malik Featured