2024 Men’s Under-19 World Cup shifted from Sri Lanka after Sri Lankan Cricket Board’s suspension

Following a poor performance in the ODI World Cup, the Cricket Board of Sri Lanka faced suspension by Apex Governing Council. Consequently, the Men's Under-19 World Cup, originally scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka, has been shifted to South Africa.

Johnson Gomez D
New Update


The Apex Governing Council Board decided on Tuesday to relocate the 2024 men's Under-19 World Cup from Sri Lanka to South Africa. This unanimous decision was prompted by the recent suspension of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) because of extensive government interference in the board's administration.

The Apex Cricket Council's Board, in making this decision, assured that cricket at all levels, including bilateral and domestic series and tournaments, would not be disrupted by the suspension. However, the control over the annual funding for Sri Lanka by the Apex Governing Council would be maintained until the suspension is lifted.

The roots of this decision trace back to SLC president Shammi Silva's warning that the 2024 tournament was at risk of relocation unless the Apex Governing Council was satisfied that the Sri Lankan government was not interfering in the board's workings, a violation of the constitution.

Silva had notified the ICC in November 2022 of government interference, prompting the ICC Board to send its deputy chairman, Imran Khawaja, to Sri Lanka to investigate.

South Africa as the New Host

South Africa emerges as the new host for the U-19 World Cup, continuing its recent history of hosting successful cricket events. Benoni (Willowmoore Park A and B) and Potchefstroom (Absa Puk Oval and Senwes Park) are likely venues for the 2024 edition, mirroring those that hosted the women's competition earlier in the year.

However, for fans in South Africa, this decision comes with a scheduling clash, as the U-19 World Cup coincides with the SA20 franchise competition, running from January 10 to February 10. Fortunately, the four venues in Benoni and Potchefstroom are not hosting any SA20 games.

 Qualification and Format for the 2024 Edition

The qualification process for the 2024 edition includes direct qualification for the top 11 Full Member sides from the 2022 edition, along with five teams - Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland, and the USA - earning their spots through regional qualification event. A notable change for the 2024 edition is the introduction of a fresh format, featuring the 'Super Sixes' as a new segment during the second stage of the event.

Sri Lanka World Cup SLC