Most Title Wins in the history of Big Bash League

Perth Scorchers still lead the title charts, having won five titles and stamping their legacy as the most consistent team of the competition.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
The Scorchers are the undisputed champions of the BBL!

The Scorchers are the undisputed champions of the BBL!

Brisbane Heat scorched through the Big Bash League, culminating in a fiery 54-run victory over the Sydney Sixers in the final at the SCG. Their season was a tapestry of dominance, woven with resilience and late-bloomer heroics.

Having been defeated just once in the regular season, the Heat weathered the loss of key overseas stars with unwavering spirit. This triumph signifies more than just a championship. It's a testament to Brisbane's depth, their unyielding belief, and their ability to thrive under pressure. With the trophy held aloft, the Heat have etched their name onto the BBL's elite list, leaving a trail of embers for other teams to chase. The future burns bright for Brisbane, fuelled by the heat of this unforgettable season.

As the curtain has fallen on this year's edition of the tournament, it is a good time to look at a list of which team has won the title on most occasions. 

#1. Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers are the undisputed kings of the BBL with a staggering five titles to their name. Their reign began in the second season of 2013-14, and they won the title yet again in 2014-15. They then lifted the trophy for the third instance in 2016-17 and went on to repeat the feat in 2021-22 and most recently in 2022-23, proving their consistency and class under the pressure of the finals. Players like Shaun Marsh, Mitch Marsh, and Jhye Richardson have been instrumental in their success, carving a legacy of unwavering determination and attacking cricket.

#2. Sydney Sixers

Hot on Perth's heels are the Sydney Sixers, whose three championship wins speak volumes of their fighting spirit and tactical prowess. Their maiden title came in the inaugural season in 2011-12 and they managed to replicate the feat after a long time in 2019-20, showcasing their ability to adapt and overcome challenges. They completed the hat trick quickly, lifting their third in 2020-21, defying the odds and proving their mettle against a resurgent Perth team. Names like Steve Smith, Moises Henriques, and Sean Abbott have etched themselves into the fabric of the Sixers' success, their experience and composure guiding them through the toughest battles.

#3. Brisbane Heat

Brisbane Heat have basked in the glory of victory on two occasions. Their first title came in 2012-13, a season marked by Nathan Hauritz's record-breaking exploits. They have now returned to the pinnacle in 2023-24, led by the indomitable performances of players like Spencer Johnson and Mitchell Swepson. The Heat's brand of fearless and aggressive cricket has earned them a loyal following, making them true contenders for the BBL crown every season.

#4. Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Strikers & Melbourne Renegades

Three teams– the Sydney Thunder, the Adelaide Strikers, and the Melbourne Renegades have each tasted the sweet nectar of victory once. The Thunder's triumph came in 2015-16, fueled by the firepower of Usman Khawaja. The Strikers roared to victory in 2017-18, riding the wave of Jake Weatherland's brilliance and the Renegades, in a Cinderella-esque story, stunned the BBL in 2018-19 with the heroics of Daniel Christian and Aaron Finch.