20-20 World Cup 2022: Australia announce 15-member squad to be led by Aaron Finch

Australia have announced the squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022 to begin next month and Tim David has been included in the squad.

New Update
Team Australia

Team Australia (Image Source: Twitter)

Team Australia Team Australia (Image Source: Twitter)

Australia has been playing ruthless cricket of late and all thanks to skipper Aaron Finch and the selectors for bringing in the right squad. The team is currently playing against Zimbabwe and the Baggy Greens have already won the series. David Warner, Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell have all found form ahead of the mega event in Australia.

Ahead of the deadline on September 15, Australia has announced the squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022. It will begin in a month and the team looks strong with proper backing in the middle order. The squad will tour India for the T20 series. The pace attack comprising of Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood can take on any team on any given day.

Chairman of selectors George Bailey said on Thursday that he wanted to retain the squad from the previous edition of the World Cup barring Mitchell Swepson, the spinner. He highlighted the selection of Tim David, who has been knocking on the doors for a while with his exceptional performances.

This is a similar squad: George Bailey

"This is a similar squad to that which became the first Australian’s men’s team to win a T20 World Cup who are now very excited about playing the tournament at home," Bailey said on Thursday. He added that Tim David had to be selected based on his performances and lauded him for his consistency.

"Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket," he added further.

Ashton Agar, Josh Inglis and Marcus Stoinis have all managed to make a cut to the squad as expected and the batting depth is extremely strong given they are a few bowlers who can bat as well.

Australia's squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022:

Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

T20 World Cup 2022 Australia tour of India Australian Cricket Team